Post a story

News ›
Sports ›

Area tennis teams hoping for success at state meet

Two-time defending boys tennis state champion New Trier will have its work cut out for it to try to win its third straight title.

The Illinois High School Association state tennis tournament opens at various suburban venues Thursday and in the preseason, it appeared New Trier would be the team to beat.

But senior Jared Hiltzik, who finished second in the state in singles last year and was a preseason favorite to win the crown this season, and his sophomore brother Aron left the Trevians in the middle of the season to concentrate on national training and competition.

That opens the field for teams such as Hinsdale Central (a three-time champion from 2007 through 2009), Deerfield and others to try to deny the Trevians another title.

Deerfield senior Jason Brown picked up the No. 1 singles seed with Hinsdale Central’s Sam Bloom seeded second.

Other TribLocal area athletes who earned top eight singles seeds were Hinsdale Central freshman Martin Joyce, Batavia senior Josh Cogan, Deerfield junior Toby Ma, Stevenson’s Jeremy Bush and New Trier’s Alex Galoustin.

Others from the area seeded in the top 16 are Downers Grove South senior Joey Leto, Glenbrook South sophomore Sam Hoogland, Warren junior Kristiyan Trukov, Lake Forest sophomore Peter Tarwid, Schaumburg freshman Vincent Lin and Niles North junior Dave Bacalla.

In doubles play, Glenbrook South’s Michael Sellitto-Michael Levin earned the top seed followed by Highland Park’s Zacko Brint-Danny Wynbrandt.

Other area teams in the top eight are Hinsdale Central’s Alex Hagermoser-Peter Heneghan, New Trier’s Alex Mang-Arthur Ozga, Downers Grove South’s Cody Freischlag-Connor Harmon, Hinsdale Central’s Chase Hamilton-Michael Lorenzini, St. Charles North’s Danny Oakes-Dom Amalraj and New Trier’s David Laser-Nate Jacobsen.

Other area standouts in the top 16 are Barrington’s George Coll-Varun Parekh, and Stevenson’s Andrew Komarov-Colin Harvey.
Hersey High School will serve as the central point for the tournament but matches will be played at Barrington, Buffalo Grove, Contant, Elk Grove Village, Fremd, Forest View, Harper College, Hoffman Estates, Palatine, Mt. Prospect, Rolling Meadows, Schaumburg and Wheeling.

Share this story

Recommended stories