Post a story

Politics and government ›

From the community

Tenth Dems To Throw a Good Old-Fashioned Political Convention

Local Democrats can learn about local political races and hear from candidates at the 10th District Democratic Convention on Sunday, March 4. The District-Wide Convention runs from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. at the Vernon Hills High School Auditorium, 145 Lakeview Parkway, Vernon Hills, IL, 60061. The doors open at 1:30 p.m.

The convention is an outstanding opportunity for candidates to meet active and passionate Democrats and interested Independents. Invited candidates are running for election at all levels of government from all parts of the district. The straw poll will give participants a chance to cast votes for their favorite congressional candidate in the March 20 primary.

This will be a good old-fashioned political convention with a chairperson, prominent speakers, rousing music, sign-waving to support Democratic candidates, balloons, and more. Tenth Dems just added special guest speaker Fay Levin, the 65th Ambassador to the Netherlands. Ambassador Levin was a senior consultant at Res Publica Group from 2006 to 2009, was Vice President for External Affairs at Chicago's Field Museum from 1997 to 2005.

The event is free and open to the public; however, only Tenth Dems members may vote in our straw poll.

Tenth Dems expects a good-sized crowd Over 500 people attended our first convention in 2008. The 10th District Democratic Convention will be a fun event and a great way to energize area Democrats and Independents. The Tenth Congressional District Democrats, or Tenth Dems for short, is a group of grassroots political volunteers who formed the organization in late 2003 to help elect Democrats to all levels of government throughout the 10th District.

For more information, go to, email, or call 847-266-VOTE (8683).

The Illinois Tenth Congressional District Democrats is a volunteer group with members from all parts of the 10th Congressional District. The 10th District contains portions of both Cook and Lake Counties stretching from Winnetka through Waukegan and from Lake Michigan west through Round Lake. The District includes all or part of the following townships: Avon, Benton, Deerfield, Grant, Libertyville, Moraine, Shields, Waukegan, West Deerfield, Vernon, Zion and parts of Fremont, Lake Villa, Maine, New Trier, Newport, Northfield, Warren, and Wheeling

Flag as inappropriate

Share this story

Recommended stories