Post a story


From the community

Moraine Valley Fine & Performing Arts Center Calendar Announcements: June-July

May 29-Aug. 2Gallery 2012 Juried Community Art ExhibitionRobert F. DeCaprio Art GalleryGallery summer hours are 9 a.m.-4:30 p.m., Monday-Thursday and during most performances. July 9-20 … Read more ›

From the community

Moraine Valley offering new child, teen classes at Valley Learning Center

The Valley Learning Center at Moraine Valley Community College is the perfect place for kids ages 4 and up to have safe fun while exploring … Read more ›

Retiring Oak Ridge teachers (fom left) Dr. Fran Domanskis, Liz Spooner and Jeanette Cieniawa were honored recently with a tree-planting ceremony at the school.
From the community

Oak Ridge School honors retiring teachers with tree-planting ceremony.

Oak Ridge School honored three retiring teachers and the memory of a former health clerk during an annual tree-planting ceremony in Palos Hills.Teachers honored for … Read more ›

Conrady students (from left) Hayley Hoyt, Gabe Sanchez, Tyshay Harris, Nora Atallah and Bridget Gorman were involved in an anti-bullying poster contest at the school.
From the community

Conrady student uses social media to initiate anti-bullying poster contest.

Bullies don't need reasons to bully. They just do.With computers at the ready, bullies no longer need to be the biggest, toughest kids in the … Read more ›

State Rep. Elaine Nekritz, D-Northbrook, works on the House floor on pension reform Monday in Springfield. ( Michael Tercha, Chicago Tribune / May 28, 2012 )

Pension reform clears first hurdle

A pension reform plan that aims to save tens of billions of dollars surfaced at the Capitol today, but questions remain about a controversial provision … Read more ›

Distinguished Scholar Award recipients and guests in back row from left are Raniah Shehadeh (Oak Lawn), Angelica Miskiewicz (Bridgeview), Agnieszka Maka (Hickory Hills), Luis Palacios (Blue Island), Nicole Cooper (Crestwood), Leah Gerrity (Alsip), Lauren Smith (Alsip), Ariel Aviza (Blue Island); middle row from left, Jennifer Henry (Oak Lawn), Heather Grimmenga (Burbank), Samantha Brock (Bridgeview), Kendra Hofman (Blue Island), Rana Khraiwish (Burbank); and front row from left, Samantha Thirstrup (Tinley Park), Abdalla Khilfeh (Hickory Hills), Moraine Valley Board of Trustee chairman Joe Murphy, college President Dr. Vernon O. Crawley, college Board of Trustee member Sandra Wagner, and student Rafif Abuzaghleh (Alsip).
From the community

Scholarship winners honored at Moraine Valley

Seventy-three students were recognized for their scholastic achievements at the annual academic scholarship ceremony April 26 at Moraine Valley Community College.Incoming and current Moraine Valley … Read more ›

From the community

Moraine Valley students awarded at Skyway competitions

Several students from Moraine Valley Community College won awards at the Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference festivals for writing, art, jazz, and STEM (science, technology, engineering, … Read more ›

From the community

Moraine Valley now accepting Business Champion Award nominations

The Economic Development Council for the Southwest Suburbs, an organization affiliated with Moraine Valley Community College’s Corporate, Community and Continuing Education subdivision, is seeking nominations … Read more ›

The Moraine Valley Forensics team is all smiles after winning a bronze medal at the Phi Rho Pi National Tournament held April 9-14 at the Renaissance Hotel and Convention Center in Schaumburg, Illinois. Six members of the team also took home medals.
From the community

Moraine Valley Forensics team hosts, wins bronze at national tournament

There’s no argument the Moraine Valley Community College Forensics team is one of the top speech teams in the country. The team secured third place … Read more ›

Orland campus
From the community

Robert Morris University Offering First Responder Scholarship

Robert Morris University is offering students with a first responder as a parent a scholarship at the Orland Park and Lake County campuses. Robert Morris … Read more ›