Post a story

Other ›
People ›
Sports ›
Teens ›

Player of the Month voting is underway


The TribLocal High School Player of the Month contest is underway featuring deserving student athletes from local high schools.

TribLocal will make a $250 donation to the winning athlete’s school.

Any registered user of may vote. Registering is easy and free. Click here to vote.

Voting will end at 9 p.m., May 24. Nominees include:


Anne Yahiro won the triple jump at the Glenbard East Invite West Aurora.

Naperville Central

Jill D’Amico got the shutout in goal against rival Naperville North making several impressive saves and surviving a penalty kick shootout to help lead North to the Naperville invitational final victory.

Naperville North

Jillian Eiken had three goals in water polo against Metea and continues to score for the North team.


Jamie O’Brien went 3-for-4 with a triple and an RBI in the softball teams win over Plainfield North.


Cameron Weber scored six goals at Metea beat Main South in water polo.

Aurora Central

Aurora Central’s Matt Miller pitched a nine-inning shutout before leaving the game against Walther Lutheran.

Aurora Christian

Josh Haugen had two triples and scored both runs for Aurora Christian in win over Aurora Central.

West Aurora

Marcus Diaz picked up the win over Glenbard North, going the distance, while allowing just three hits and striking out six.

Waubonsie Valley

Morolake Akinosun not only won the 55-meter dash March 24 at the Illinois Prep Top Times Classic, considered to be the unofficial indoor state meet, she also set the indoor state record in the event in 6.76 seconds. Her time ranked as the best in the nation among high school runners in the indoor season and was 10th on the all-time indoor list, according to


Brian Czyl was 3-for-4 with two runs for Lisle as they won the Lisle invite.

Share this story

Recommended stories